More editing

Editor’s Note: This was supposed to be an editing blog, though it’s gotten slightly off-track at times (not that it’s necessarily a bad thing). I’m taking the blog back to its original roots with a post about editing.

I sat down with Sean Abdoli, a senior at the University of Alabama, who is majoring in journalism and minoring in creative writing, and asked him a few questions about editing.

Should  editing catch-up to the 21st century in terms of colloquialisms? Should the AP Stylebook change to reflect the times?

Yea, I think it should. Since language is flexible , the more flexible the AP is, the better understanding of journalism we have. It’s to keep the public interest in journalism.

Are there any noticeable differences between editing for journalism and editing for creative writing?

I guess since I write fiction, I don’t have to check for accuracy. When I’m writing a story, I have to worry about my take, the style.

What do you think? Do you agree with Sean? Why or why not?

I agree with Sean, especially with the first point. As I noted, I wanted the AP to run Joe Biden’s health-care reform is a “big fucking deal.”  With journalism moving online and more interactive (i.e. Facebook, Twitter, story comments, etc), there should be a push to make language a bit more informal.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

